Mistakes?

Lalo is a very good friend of mine. I met him at school. He always was very talented making, building, inventing and designing “things”; Once, he showed me a pencil with an incorporated flashlight he made (I don’t know if this “thing” already existed but, in 7th grade, that seemed to be a very clever invention to me!).

A few months ago, Lalo said to me, he discovered a canadian store of tube amps kits (circuits and modifications for tube amplifiers). He always has been some kind of guitar tech to me. He modified my Epiphone Les Paul Custom, and my old ’99 Squier Strat, and always has enjoyed helping me with technical issues (for sure: he is very good playing the electric guitar. A huge fan of blues and rock music, and a master of pentatonic solos with lots of mojo. Lately, he made a replica of the JCM800 Marshall amp).

My amp is the Peavey VK100, a raw tube amp of 100 watts. This thing + a 4×12 Marshall cabinet is a really explosive combination for heavy metal.

Well. The big problem for me was the volume: my vol. level in a gig is usually no higher than 4 or 5 (i have never tried to put the level up to 10… I think HELL would be a very good word to describe what would happen). So, I needed an “attenuator”. this way, the tubes could be hot enough to sound like hell, but in a comfortable volume level. Nice, huh? So, I bought a kit just as Lalo told me.

Lalo es un muy buen amigo mío. Lo conocí en el colegio. Siempre fue muy talentoso creando, construyendo, inventando y diseñando “cosas”; una vez, me mostró un lápiz con una linterna incorporada que hizo cuando éramos niños (no sé si ese invento ya existía para ese entonces, cuando íbamos séptimo básico, pero me pareció algo bastante inteligente!).

Hace unos meses, Lalo me dijo que había descubierto una tienda canadiense de kits para amplificadores (circuitos y modificaciones para amplificadores a tubos). Él siempre ha sido una especie de técnico de guitarras para mí. Modificó mi Epiphone Les Paul Custom y mi antigua Squier Strat del ’99, y siempre ha disfrutado ayudándome con temas técnicos (por cierto: Lalo es muy bueno tocando la guitarra. Es un gran fan del rock, y un maestro de los solos pentatónicos llenos de “mojo”. Últimamente hizo una réplica del Marshal JCM800).

Mi ampli es el Peavey VK100, un amp a tubos de 100 watts. Ese bicho + una caja Marshall 4×12 resulta ser una combinación explosiva para el heavy metal.

Pues bien. El gran problema que tenía era el volumen: mi nivel de volumen en una tocata es usualmente de 4 o 5 (nunca he intentado poner el potenciómetro al nivel 10… me imagino que INFIERNO sería una buena palabra para describir lo que sucedería). Así que, necesitaba un “atenuador”. De esta forma, los tubos podrían calentarse lo suficiente para sonar como INFIERNO, pero en un volumen soportable. Lindo, no? Así fue como terminé comprando el kit que me recomendó.

In the video, you can see me playing for the recording of the last studio album of DISFONÍA. I played in the monitor room, leaving my amp inside the recording room. (Normally, you just play inside the recording room). The warm-sound of the distortion was just possible, thanks to the volume level (almost 7-8), and the isolated room, that didn’t let escape the sound from the room, and didn’t let it hurt us.

This week we spent 2 days building the thing. A lot of work and a lot of welding! Well.. unfortunately it didn’t work. The dialogue with the canadian guys wasn’t good enough to install the thing successfully.

We burnt 3 pre-amps tubes, and I don’t know what else could have happened.

En el video, pueden verme tocando para la grabación del último disco en estudio de DISFONÍA. Toqué en la sala de monitoreo, y dejé mi amp dentro de la sala de grabación. (Normalmente, uno toca dentro de la sala de grabación). El sonido cálido de la distorsión fue posible, gracias al nivel de volumen del amp (aprox 7-8), y a la sala aislada, que no dejaba escapar el sonido, ni permitió que el volumen lastimara nuestros oídos.

Esta semana pasamos 2 días construyendo el asunto. Un montón de trabajo y un montón de soldadura! Bien… lamentablemente no nos resultó. El diálogo con los fabricantes canadienses no fue lo suficientemente bueno como para instalar el circuito apropiadamente.

Quemamos 3 tubos del pre-amplificador, y no sabemos qué más pudo haber pasado.

160720132087

My VK100 on surgery

This thing, besides of being a very silly mistake, was a quite expensive mistake. Damn it! But it led me understand what I am really looking for in my sound.. I’m thinking of selling my Marshall cabinet (I never liked the sound of Marshall: I bought it because it was at a very good price), and buying a new amp. A new sound, and not 100 watts anymore, and no more 4×12 cabinets.

Last week I read an article about the false cabinet issue. Putting lots of cabinets on stage: none of them working (only the facade). – Read it HERE – I remembered the cool thing Dave Mustaine did in the “Countdown to extintion tour”, using led panels to show videos and animations. Just like in the photo below: that was a pretty fresh perspective about this thing. Laugh about this absurd thing of appearance. (In my case, having more than I need).

Esto, además de ser un error bastante tonto, también fue bastante caro. Mierda! Pero me permitió entender qué es lo que estoy buscando realmente en mi sonido… Estoy pensando en vender mi caja Marshall (nunca me gustó el sonido Marshall: terminé comprándola porque estaba a muy buen precio), y comprar un nuevo amp. Un sonido nuevo, sin 100 watts, y sin cajas 4×12.

La semana pasada leí un artículo sobre el tema de las cajas falsas en vivo. Poner un montón de cajas sobre el escenario, y ninguna funcionando realmente (solo la fachada – léelo aquí). Recordé lo que hizo Mustaine en la gira aniversario del “Countdown to extintion”, donde usó paneles led para mostrar vídeos y animaciones. Tal como en la foto de abajo: se trató de una perspectiva fresca sobre este tema. Reírse sobre este tema absurdo de las apariencias. (En mi caso, tener más de lo que necesito).

Imagen

Yiyo (Farmacos/Miss Garrison), a classmate i had in college, told me that DEVO don’t use amps at all: just a lot of effects and pedals, and all that straight to the mixer… no amps.

So, I finally understood what is important to me right now. It is extremely important  achieving the sound you really like, you really want. A new level, a new perspective for a new stage of life.

One more time, the phrase: “thanks to spoiling things, you learn” makes sense to me.

Yiyo(Farmacos/Miss Garrison), un compañero que tuve en la Universidad, me contó que DEVO no usa amplificadores: solo un montón de efectos y pedales, y todo directo al mixer… sin amps.

Finalmente entendí qué es importante para mí ahora. Es muy importante conseguir el sonido que realmente quieres y que realmente te guste. Un nuevo nivel, una nueva perspectiva para una nueva estapa de vida.

Una vez más, la frase “echando a perder se aprende”, me hace sentido.

Leave a Reply

