The importance of your mentors

Next week I will give a Seminary about Composition in the UNIACC University. This is the third time I do this, in the context of workshops and seminars for future students (mostly teenagers in their last school year) during the academic holidays; so, that has made me think about a few things.

The main theme of the Seminar is, of course, “Composition”; I begin the class with a brief introduction and the listening to the 1986’s “Armenia” of “Einstürzende Neubauten” (below).

La próxima semana dictaré un seminario sobre Composición en la Universidad UNIACC. Esta es la tercera vez que hago esto, en el contexto de talleres y seminarios para futuros estudiantes (en su mayoría, adolescentes en su último año de colegio) durante las vacaciones académicas; esto me hizo pensar sobre un par de cosas.

El tema principal del seminario es, por supuesto, la Composición; Comienzo la clase con una breve introducción y la audición de la canción de 1986 “Armenia” de “Einstürzende Neubauten” (abajo).

Well, I do this as a kind of tribute to one of my composition teachers, Felipe Rodríguez. He showed me for the first time this piece in one of his classes. And I took the song, and did the same thing in my own class: putting in crisis the parameters of music with the german band.

It is common to listen popular music, if you are gonna study popular music. So, maybe, if I show the right musical piece, maybe the concepts about what the class think is music, will be different, and of course, the music they usually listen, could be analyzed in other way.

This could be some kind of extrapolation exercise, (in the anthropologic – ethnologic way) ’cause you are prejudiced to watch and see something totally different with the same parameters you see every normal thing. This automatically could produce more than a few reactions, but, the most important thing is: they are listening. Maybe one thing they only do with their favorite music (or maybe they don’t do it at all).

Later, I show them another pieces of different styles (popular, contemporary, avant-garde, classic, etc.) I take the opportunity to show them a lot of music!!!

The thing is that I like to do this “tribute” to my mentors, not only in this class, but also in the guitar lessons I dictate.

I remember once I had an annual guitar exam with my professor, Rodolfo Olea. And he told me, after the exam… “You see.. after all these years teaching, I have discovered the best way to evaluate my students”. And he explained the method to me, with my exam’s performance.

Year after year I realize the importance of his lessons and the academic legacy he left me. The importance of the integrated knowledge.. He taught me that guitarists (instrumentalists) must have the sensibility of a composer and the discipline of a sportsman. And he showed (and taught me) the respectful relationship between student and teacher (something very “zen”, without being explicit).

Bueno, esto lo hago como una especie de tributo a uno de mis mentores de composición, Felipe Rodríguez. Él me mostró por primera vez esta obra en una de sus clases. Y yo la tomé e hice lo mismo en mi propia clase: poner en crisis los parámetros de la música con esa banda alemana.

Es común escuchar música popular, si vas a estudiar música popular. Así que, tal vez, si te muestro la obra adecuada, los conceptos que creías que conformaban la música pueden cambiar, y claro, tu forma de analizar lo que usualmente escuchas, también puede cambiar.

Esto puede ser un tipo de ejercicio de extrapolación (en el sentido antropológico-etnológico), porque uno está predispuesto a escuchar y ver algo totalmente distinto con los mismos parámetros con los que ves las cosas normalmente. Esto automáticamente puede producir más de alguna reacción, pero, lo más importante: provocas que la clase escuche. Tal vez algo que solo hacen con su música favorita (o quizás no lo hagan nunca).

Más tarde, les muestro otras piezas de distintos estilos (popular, contemporánea, avant-garde, clásica, etc.) Aprovecho la oportunidad de mostrar mucha música!!

La cosa es que me gusta hacer estos “tributos” a mis mentores, no solo en esta clase, sino también en las lecciones de guitarra que dicto.

Recuerdo una vez, en un examen anual con mi profesor, Rodolfo Olea. Tras la prueba me dijo: “¿Sabes? después de todos estos años, descubrí la mejor forma de evaluar a mis alumnos”. Y me explicó su método, ejemplificando con el desempeño que tuve en mi examen.

Años después me doy cuenta de la importancia de sus clases y el legado académico que dejó en mí. La importancia del conocimiento integrado… Me enseñó que los guitarristas (instrumentistas) deben tener la sensibilidad de un compositor y la disciplina de un deportista. Y me mostró (y enseñó) sobre la relación basada en el respeto entre alumno y profesor (algo bastante “zen”, sin ser explícito).

The time I discovered my ears capacity, when he showed me the main riff of “Money for Nothing” well played, was really a huge discovery for me. To realize that my capabilities were finally visibles.

So, it has become one significant song to me. And it is so funny, having had an academic musical formation, having to face all these new meanings of songs and music, sometimes, I already knew.

Mentors and teachers are -even if we want it or not- the spice of your formation. You could love them or hate them, but they are fundamental in the construction of this new “you”. This new “you”, with new knowledge, abilities and understanding.

I’m grateful of all people who taught me and showed me new things, ’cause they helped me to build what I am now.

And I “tribute” them with little details in my everyday life.

El día en el que descubrí mis capacidades auditivas, fue cuando me mostró el riff principal de “Money for Nothing”, bien tocado… eso fue un gran descubrimiento para mí. Darme cuenta que mis habilidades eran finalmente visibles.

Así es como esa canción se transformó en algo significativo para mí. Y resulta tan gracioso a la vez, habiendo tenido una formación académica musical, tener que enfrentar todos estos nuevos significados de música y canciones que ya conocía de antes.

Los mentores y profesores son -incluso si uno lo quiere o no- la sazón de tu formación. Puedes amarlos u odiarlos, pero son fundamentales en la construcción de ese nuevo “tú”. Ese nuevo “tú”, con nuevos conocimientos, habilidades y entendimiento.

Estoy agradecido de todas las personas que me enseñaron y me mostraron nuevas cosas, porque me ayudaron a ser lo que soy ahora.

Y los “homenajeo” con pequeños detalles en mi vida cotidiana.

Leave a Reply

