Fearless

Sometimes, you just wake up with your body heavier than other days. It’s kind of strange: you have been doing your life as normal as usual, but suddenly, things seems to be more complicated, and nonsense.

That is the perfect moment to take a deep breath, and think about fear. It is so normal, to feel that emotion once in a while.. Feeling that lack of direction, feeling a bit lost in your own world.

Over the years I have learned a lot about patience. I have worked in many projects, long-range projects, and I think it is very normal -and even useful- to feel that strange sensation. Because, when you work every day to achieve a new goal, the months pass by, and sometimes you forget that feeling/emotion that inspired you at the first place.

When I make a record, I begin composing (maybe the most emotional process). Then, I arrange, experimenting with structures, adding instruments, sounds, experiences… But after that, begins a complete new and different step: the ensemble work… a training process, that includes memorizing all the parts, and preparing the body to be in fit to enter in the studio and give the best of yourself. How much time it takes? It depends of the project.

Every time I begin a new project, I know I will be very excited, but also will be very tired, inmerse in creative, but also monotonous stages.

Working, working, and working.. I become more “mental”, than “emotional”, and that necessarily transforms me to a colder person.. to a “mental” person. I forgot where I was going – considering that my movements and actions exist because I want to be happy.

I appreciate that fear, or discomfort, because it reminds me where am I, and forces me to make me questions, and to have a chat with myself.

It is so easy to forget our emotions, principles, directions, hopes, dreams… when I wake up with that strange feeling, I try to remember all that things.. and I begin to tranform myself in a human again, coloring every task, work or action.

I try to enjoy my achievements and the hard days too, when the mountains seems to be steeper than ever, because those days bring me peace: an honest peace, elaborated by my mind and my emotions.

Music, of course, helps me with its state, atmosphere, rythm, instensity and melody.

“Everyday is the right day”. Never give up, never forget who you are.

A veces, despiertas con tu cuerpo más pesado que otros días. Es un poco raro: has estado haciendo tu vida normal como siempre, pero de pronto, las cosas parecen ser más complicadas y sin sentido.

Ese es el momento perfecto para tomar un gran respiro, y pensar en el miedo. Es tan normal, sentir esa emoción de vez en vez… sentir esa falta de dirección, sentirte perdido en tu propio mundo.

Con el paso de los años he aprendido mucho sobre paciencia. He trabajado en varios proyectos, de largo aliento, y creo que es muy normal -incluso útil- sentir esa extraña sensación. Porque, cuando trabajas todos los días para lograr un objetivo, los meses pasan, y a veces olvidas la emoción que te inspiró en primer lugar.

Cuando hago un disco, parto componiendo (tal vez la etapa más emocional). Luego, arreglo, experimento con estructuras, agregando instrumentos, sonidos, experiencias… pero después de todo eso, comienza un paso completamente diferente: el trabajo de ensamble… un proceso de entrenamiento, que incluye la memorización de las partes, y la preparación del cuerpo para estar en forma y entrar al estudio y dar lo mejor de uno. Cuánto tiempo toma eso? depende del proyecto.

Cada vez que comienzo un nuevo proyecto, sé que estaré muy emocionado, pero también muy cansado, inmerso en etapas creativas, pero también monótonas.

Trabajar, trabajar y trabajar… Uno se vuelve más “mental” que “emocional”, y eso necesariamente me transforma en una persona más fría. En una persona “mental”. Olvido a dónde iba -considerando que mis movimientos y acciones son porque quiero ser feliz.

Aprecio ese miedo, o esa disconformidad, porque me recuerda dónde estoy, y me obliga a hacerme preguntas, y a tener una conversación conmigo mismo.

Es tan fácil olvidar nuestras emociones, principios, direcciones, esperanzas, sueños… cuando despierto con esa extraña sensación. Trato de recordar todo esto… y comienzo a transformarme en humano otra vez, coloreando cada tarea, acción o trabajo.

Trato de disfrutar de mis logros y de mis días difíciles también, cuando las montañas parecen ser más altas que nunca, porque esos días me traen paz: una paz honesta, elaborada por mi mente y mis emociones.

La música, por supuesto, me ayuda con sus estados, atmósferas, ritmos, intensidades y melodías.

“Cada día es el día adecuado”. Nunca te des por vencido, nunca te olvides de quién eres.

3 thoughts on “Fearless

  1. “…my movements and actions exist because I want to be happy.” You putted it soooo simple! Well, fear is an opportunity to be brave… let´s be brave! jajajaaa! I just loved the post.

Leave a Reply

